Understanding User Roles and Permissions


Objectives: 

  • Learn the basics of user roles and permissions
  • Learn the different user roles and permissions
  • Learn about using tags to manage volunteers and users
  • Learn how you can change roles when needed

Introduction


Your organisation has different members for different jobs. Likewise, your platform has different functions for specific features. Keep in mind any of these roles are automated based on actions of the users. Security standard are built into the application. We recommend you review your moderation setting.


Only super administrators are able to see the full user role and permission setting due to our information security policy.


User Roles and Permissions


The platform automatically assigns and updates user roles as the user work through the platform, limit access to only what that users need to be able to access to do their job effectively.


The different platform roles include:

  • Visitor
    • Can view public content only
  • Users
    • Can have a profile
    • Can view public content only
  • Opportunity Administrator
    • Have edit and moderation rights over volunteer opportunities and volunteers connected to the manage opportunity (or organisation the opportunity falls into)
  • Organisation Administrator
    • Have rights to manage and moderate volunteers (including profiles) and all opportunities under specific organisations
  • Group Administrator
    • Limited super administrator with access and control over different entities with matching custom field values
    • Has access to insights, but not to settings
  • Super Administrator
    • Have platform setting and edit rights, moderation rights, and all basic rights mentioned above

User Tags to Manage Volunteers and Users


Use tags to manage your community and group your users. Depending on how your team is organised, administrators can assign roles and use tags to further define users. Read more about using tags to group and manage your community here.


More Details About the Roles


Here is a table that shows more information about the different roles and functions on the platform:


RoleDefinitionFunctions and Capabilities
Super Administrator
Represents the client and can view all the data on the platform
  • Moderates all platform content
  • Manage all organisations
  • Manage all opportunities
  • Can add and manage subscribers
  • Receives notifications about new platform activities
  • Assign and edit user roles
Group Administrator
A limited super administrator with access and control only over the opportunities, organisations, users, and/or stories with matching custom field values
  • Acts like a super administrator but only for the entities they are assigned into
  • Has access to insights but not to settings
Administrator
Privileged over certain organisations
  • Add and manage certain organisations
  • Add and manage certain opportunities
  • Report on opportunities
  • Add and delete stories
  • Manage opportunity subscribers
  • Manage user profiles which fall under their organisations
Ambassadors (Opportunity Administrator)
Limited rights on an opportunity
  • Add and manage own opportunities within an organisation(s)
  • Report on own opportunities
  • Add stories
  • Manage and rate volunteer performance
Users
Someone with an account (participant/subscriber)
  • Apply for opportunities
  • Add stories
  • Submit feedback to opportunities attended
  • Add opportunity (if the opportunity is approved, the user becomes an opportunity administrator)
Visitors
Someone without an account and is not logged in on the platform
  • Can view opportunities, organisations, and stories
  • Gets promoted to a user if he/she creates a profile and login

Change of Roles


To request a user-role change for one of your users, please email us (by creating a ticket) with the subject line "Request for User Role change for [name of your platform]". Provide us with the name and email address of the person whose role we need to change and an explanation of why you think they have the wrong user status.